Register April 9, 2019 | Submit April 9, 2019 | Free Architecture Competitions



The Brick Award 2020



For more than one decade now, Wienerberger AG has been hosting the international “Wienerberger Brick Award” every two years, providing a stage for excellent brick architecture and its architects. Wienerberger initiated the Brick Award for the first time in 2004 in order to put this natural building material into the spotlight, demonstrating how exciting, exceptional and modern architecture using brick can be.

Although Wienerberger is the host of the award, it is an independent award and the use of Wienerberger products is no decisive factor for participation. Over the last years, projects have been submitted from all over the world and nominations as well as winners have been chosen using a wide range of manufacturers and brick types in all colours and shapes. In a dialogue with you, architects and architecture fans as well as critics, we want to further strengthen the public focus on the aesthetic and functional aspects of this great building material.



Architects, international architecture critics, and journalists can submit projects between January 7th and April 9th 2019.

The winners will be communicated at the Brick Award ceremony at the end of May 2020.



The winners of the Wienerberger Brick Award are announced biennially at an award ceremony and presented, along with the 50 nominations in the accompanying ‘Brick’ book. Winning projects are endowed with price money and can be found all over the world.

The award is endowed with prize money of 7.000 Euros for the Grand Prize Winner (incl. Category Winner) and 5.000 Euros for each of the remaining four Category Winners.






Anne Kaestle, Duplex Architekten, Germany

Jonathan Sergison, Sergison Bates architects, UK

Marc Mimram, Marc Mimram Architecture, France

Stephan Ferenczy, BEHF Corporate Architects, Austria

Vladimir Arsene, Westfourth Architecture, Romania







For more information about this competition, please contact us.