National Pulse Memorial & Museum International Design Competition FREE ARCHITECTURE COMPETITION

Register April 30, 2019 | Submit April 30, 2019 | Free Architecture Competitions



National Pulse Memorial & Museum International Design Competition



On June 12, 2016, 49 angels sought the joy, love, and acceptance of Pulse nightclub. Instead, they found hatred. And they never came home. They were gay. They were straight. Latin, black, white. Mothers. Brothers. Sisters. Daughters. Sons. Lost forever. Targeted for their association. Attacked for their acceptance. Silenced for their love. And murdered simply because they chose to be themselves.
This was both a terrorist act and a hate crime. Yet in the aftermath of the largest and deadliest act of violence affecting LGBTQ+ people, and one of the deadliest terrorist attacks by a single gunman in modern American history, the Orlando community and the world came together to prove that love will overcome fear and hatred. Under this banner, the onePULSE Foundation, a 501(c)(3) educational nonprofit, was created to memorialize this tragedy and ensure that Pulse’s legacy of love, acceptance and hope will never be lost.
Inspired by community feedback, onePULSE intends to build the National Pulse Memorial & Museum including a pedestrian pathway called Survivors Walk, on the site of the Pulse nightclub and nearby properties.
The National Pulse Memorial will be a sanctuary of hope and healing that honors the 49 lives that were taken, their families, the 68 injured victims, all the affected survivors, and the first responders and healthcare professionals who cared for the victims.
The Pulse Museum will educate, enlighten, inspire reflection and rumination, and start conversations that will change mindsets. The museum will provide a permanent home for artifacts and archives of the tragedy and represent a lasting legacy of the global response of love seen in the weeks and months following the shooting.
Survivors Walk will trace the three-block journey many victims and survivors took the night of the tragedy to get to the Orlando Regional Medical Center. Together, the National Pulse Memorial & Museum, including Survivors Walk, will be a tribute to all those affected, will engage and educate visitors from around the world, and will serve as a catalyst for positive change.
The National Pulse Memorial & Museum International Design Competition challenges architects to form a multi-disciplinary team with urban designers, landscape architects, exhibition designers, and artists to create an iconic place of remembrance and acceptance, and a sacred and safe place that teaches love, motivates action, and transforms thinking.
A place that makes it clear: We will not let hate win.



Stage I: Request for Qualifications

  • March 25, 2019 – RFQ Release
  • March 25–April 18, 2019 – Q+A Period
  • April 30, 2019 – Qualifications Due
  • Late May, 2019 – Shortlist Announced

Stage II: Design Competition (for invited Shortlist only)

  • Late May, 2019 – Design Brief Release
  • June 18 -19, 2019 – Site Tour and Informational Meeting
  • Mid-July 2019 – Interim Presentations and Review
  • Early September 2019 – Concept Design Due
  • Late September-early October, 2019 – Public Exhibition
  • Mid-October, 2019 – Presentations to the Jury
  • Late October 2019 – Winning Team Announced



An honorarium of $50,000 will be paid to each of the shortlisted teams who have met onePULSE’s Stage II requirements, payable upon selection of a winning team.






Mayra Alvear
Victim’s Liaison, Mother of Amanda Alvear, Task Force Advisory Council, onePULSE

Mark Cosgrove
Board of Trustees , onePULSE, Partner, Capital Strategies

Earl Crittenden
Chair, Board of Trustees onePULSE, GrayRobinson, P.A.

Yolande Daniels
Principal, studioSUMO

Mayor Jerry Demings
Orange County, Florida

Mayor Buddy Dyer
Orlando, Florida

Teresa Jacobs
School Board Chair, Orange County Public Schools, former Orange County Mayor

George A. Kalogridis
Vice Chair, Board of Trustees onePULSE, President, Walt Disney World

Hilary Lewis
Board of Trustees onePULSE, Chief Curator & Creative Director, The Glass House

Ricardo J. Negron-Almodovar
Survivor, Service Legal Coordinator, Latino Justice Southeast Office

Barbara Poma
Owner, Pulse Nightclub, Founder & CEO, onePULSE

Andrew Snyder
Board of Trustees, onePULSE, S.V.P., Marketing and Strategic Communications, Orlando Health

Laurinda H. Spear
Co-Founder, Arquitectonica, Principal, ArquitectonicaGEO

Sarah Whiting
Dean, Rice University School of Architecture, Principal WW Architecture

Susanna Sirefman
Competition Director and Jury Advisor, President, Dovetail Design Strategists




For more information about this competition, please contact us.